Welcome to CSC343!

In the table below, you'll find lecture materials and weekly prep exercises. Each week has assigned readings from the textbook "A First Course in Database Systems" by Jeffrey D. Ullman and Jennifer Widom, 2008 (3rd Edition). Used copies are widely available, and it is on short-term loan in the Math library in BA, and in the Engineering and CS library in Sandford Fleming Building.

Although classes start on Thursday September 7, our first lecture will be Tuesday September 12 and we will number the weeks so that the week of Sept 10-17 is week 1.

Week Prep Class Resources
Relational Model and Algebra
1 None
  • Chapter 1
  • Sections 2.1-2.3
2 Prep2 (due Mon 18 Sep)
  • Sections 2.4-2.5
  • PCRS RA documentation
  • 3 Prep3 (due Mon 25 Sep)
    • Section 5.1
    SQL
    4 Prep4 (due Mon 2 Oct)
    5 Prep5 (due Tues 10 Oct)
    6 Prep6 (due Mon 16 Oct)
    Midterm and Reaction Policies
    7 Prep7 (due Mon 23 Oct) Midterm
  • Sections 11.1-11.3
  • DTD Specification
  • 8 Prep8 (due Wed 1 Nov)

    Exercises: - FD exercises: handout and solution

    Reading Week!
    Design Theory and Normalization
    9 Prep9 (due Mon 13 Nov)
    • Sections 3.3-3.5
    10 Prep10 (due Mon 20 Nov) Same as last week
    ER and Modelling
    11 Prep11 (due Mon 27 Nov)
    • Sections 4.1-4.5
      (except subclasses: 4.1.11)
    12 No Prep! No new readings